RTM Nagpur University

The Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University was established in August 1923 with six affiliated colleges and 927 students. During 1947, the number of students increased to about 9000, accompanied by the improvement and diversification of curricula and expansion in the range of subjects. The expansion of library and sports facilities occurred during these years for the intellectual and physical well being of the students. It was in 1958 that some new departments in Arts and Social Science faculties were opened; the major expansion, however, came in 1963 when several Science and other departments were started. These departments were shifted to spacious buildings in the main campus in 1970-72. In later years, several career oriented courses have been started viz. Library Science (1956), Mass Communication (1969), Business Management (1970), Fine Arts (1980),Physical Education(1986), etc.


Thus the University, which is now 96 years old, is well set with 38 University Teaching Departments, 04 Centers, 03 conducted colleges,01 UGC Human Resorce Development Centre - Academic Staff College and 808 affiliated colleges working with the well defined objectives of (a) making higher education socially relevant and economically productive, (b) balancing the horizontal expansion of higher education with vertical excellence, (c) developing scientific and technical education to help and accelerate national economic growth and (d) involving students and teachers to make campus vibrant with character building and creative and constructive activities.
The magnitude of the University can be assessed in terms of:

  1. Its jurisdiction, which presently caters to the needs of six districts including backward and tribal areas of Chandrapur and Gadchiroli,
  2. its large affiliating system consisting of more thane 808 affiliated colleges,in addition to its own 03 conducted colleges, 38 departments , 04 Centers and one UGC Human Resource Development Centre - Academic Staff college,
  3. its multi-faculty nature with Arts, Science, Social Science, Commerce, Education, Law, Home Science, Engineering and Technology, Medicine and Ayurvedic. The University system imparts knowledge through about 3500 teachers to about 4.25 lacs students appearing for different examinations annually.